top of page

Post-Grad Diary #1 - Life Update

I feel like a life update is long overdue. A lot has happened - I’ve graduated college, moved to a new city, and started my new job! I want to start this “Post-Grad Diaries” series to document how I've been navigating life post-grad.


I love and miss writing for fun, so this series will keep me writing and also keep me accountable for documenting my life. Afterall, this blog is essentially my online diary, whereas my Instagram is my online scrapbook.


Since I’ve moved to Indy, I’ve come to a few realizations:


Realization #1: Say yes to things


I consider myself a pretty social person and am always down to meet new people and find things to do! When I first got to Indy, I reached out to the few people that I did know here and got coffee or lunch with them. Through these individuals, I met their roommates, coworkers, and college friends.


For example: my friend invited me to duckpin bowling with some of her coworkers and roommates. I was grateful that she invited me because I got to meet 10 new people. Duckpin bowling was actually super fun and it created a bonding experience where I got to meet new people who are now my friends.


My philosophy is “the more the merrier”. I aim to be an inclusive person, so I will always invite people to things and tell them to invite whoever they want. This way, I am able to meet more people and expand my circle of friends.


For example: I was planning on going to a concert with some people I knew and decided to extend the invitation to an acquaintance. He invited 2 of his friends and now everyone who went to the concert are all friends.


Realization #2: It’s important to set boundaries


I’m not trying to contradict what I said above, but sometimes it’s important to set boundaries for yourself - professionally and personally.


There have been moments at work where I felt like I didn’t have the capacity to take on an additional project or more workload and had to communicate that to my supervisor. She was super understanding about it and I am grateful for her support.


Socially, I’ve realized that it’s okay to take time for yourself. It’s okay to say no if you don’t feel like going out and would rather stay in. No one is going to judge you for it. In fact, no one actually cares. I know that sounds harsh, but everyone is busy doing them and are focused on themselves.


Realization #3: I love being independent/do things for yourself


I have always been an independent person, but being on my own post-grad has made me realize that I truly love being independent. I love the autonomy that I have over my life. I know this might sound silly - but I truly love being able to decide things for myself.


The person that you spend the most time with is you. Let that sink in. You need to be comfortable with spending time with yourself. It’s also important to do things for yourself.


For example: I was trying to make plans with friends on a Sunday but everyone seemed to be busy. Something that I have been wanting to do for awhile is go to the Van Gogh Immersion Experience at Newsfield. So I decided to buy a ticket and went by myself. I got to explore the museum at my own pace and take pictures without being “annoying”.


Realization #4: Adulting is hard


With the excitement that being independent brings also comes all the responsibilities of being an adult. Let me tell you, adulting is hard. Between having to set up your own WiFi/utilities, scheduling appointments, budgeting, putting in maintenance requests, etc - it can be a lot to manage.


But this leads me to my next point….


Realization #5: I’m still learning


I literally just graduated college and am starting my “new life”; I know I don’t know everything. But I am excited to take this next stage of my life to take the time to learn more about myself. I am still trying to figure out who I am by reassessing my values, my relationships, and having fun in a new city with new friends.


Stay tuned for my next Post-Grad Diary!




  • Instagram
bottom of page