top of page

First Time to Texas: Dallas Recap

Wow. What an adventure this trip to Dallas was! To preface, I was originally supposed to fly out Thursday night (February 24). But there was a snow storm coming to Dallas that night… so my flight got canceled on Wednesday (February 23). I was devasted. However, I was able to reschedule my flight for Saturday morning (February 26) on the American Airlines app.


Saturday February 26


We love longgg travel days (jk). I woke up at 3 AM EST because my flight was at 6 AM EST. After many hours of travel, I made it to Dallas around 1 PM CST. Shannon picked me up from the airport and off we went!



The first place we went to was an all-you-can-eat Vietnamese buffet called Danang Souphouse. I didn’t know that all-you-can-eat Vietnamese buffets even existed! It wasn’t the best Vietnamese food I've had but it was still nice to have some Asian food. I was also able to introduce Shannon to different types of Vietnamese food besides pho.


We got:

- Pho gà (chicken pho noodle soup)

- Bún riêu (crab paste noodle soup- my personal favorite!)

- Bùn bò (Hue style beef noodle soup)

- Bánh bôt loc (pork filled tapioca dumplings)

- Bánh bèo (steamed rice flour cakes)

- Spring rolls

- Thit kho (braised pork with eggs)



Anyone who knows me knows that I love going to art museums in different cities. This museum is actually free! There were actually a decent amount of people at the museum on a rainy Saturday.




This museum is a 3 minute walk from the Dallas Museum of Art and is also free! It was a pretty interesting museum, not the kind of art I was envisioning.



4) Taking the trolley


This is another free activity to do in downtown Dallas! It’s a fun way to get around the city.




This place was so good! The aesthetics are everything. We were seated in an outdoor greenhouse room (not in the main dining room). We got the brussel sprouts, the Saganaki Shrimp, rose, and the Cali Chicken salad to share. Everything was so yummy! Service was great.




Catbird is located at the top of the Thompson Hotel. It was such a vibe. Shannon knew I would enjoy something like this, so I appreciate her making a reservation here for us. I got a paloma that I didn’t really like, so our server gave me a different drink that I did enjoy!


At this point in the night, I was dead tired from being up since 3 AM EST so we called it a night at 10:30 PM CST (which was technically 11:30 PM EST!)







Sunday February 27


1) La La Land Cafe


I absolutely love how bright and happy this coffee shop is! Everyone is so nice and friendly. Shannon and I met up with a college friend, Maya. I've actually known Maya since high school so it was so nice to see her and catch up!





I was so excited to come here. On Sundays, this Thai Buddhist temple transforms into an outdoor food market. It’s cash-only and things sell out quickly, so be prepared!


Shannon and I got a bunch of different things to share. We got pork and beef skewers, Hello Kitty red bean buns, Kerroppi pork buns, and shrimp noodle soup.


3) Bishops Art District


After the Buddhist Temple, Shannon and I went to the Bishops Art District and walked around. It’s such a cute area. I got a postcard at a local female owned business. Fun fact: I love collecting post cards from places I visit!




This is actually a chain. I wish I could say that I got this for the first time when I was in Hawaii. I paid $8 for a reusable mason jar and straw and got strawberry lemonade.













5) Mardi Gras parade


The main reason why we went to the Bishop Arts District that day was because there was a Mardi Gras parade. It wasn’t the most eventful parade but it was still cool to check out! I collected a few beads that were being thrown out.



Monday February 28


1) Walking the Katy Trail


Shannon and I started our workday off with a morning walk on the Katy Trail. I love walking so this was right up my alley and it felt nice to get some exercise before starting the day!



A friend actually recommended that I check out this place when I came to Dallas. They have two locations. It was super inexpensive and delicious. I got a pork bowl and an order of chips and salsa.



3) Katy Trail Ice House


You can’t come to Dallas and not visit the Katy Trail Ice House! Shannon and I came here and met up with another one of our college friends who was also in town visiting. I got a margarita and it was huge- everything is bigger in Texas! I also got a club sandwich, which was super yummy.



Tuesday March 1


Tuesday finally rolled around and it was my last day in Texas. Nothing eventful happened except that I was leaving Dallas after the work day was over. The weather was beautiful today and I was actually able to sit by the pool as I was listening in work meetings.


I really enjoyed my time in Dallas and wouldn’t trade my time for anything else! It felt so nice to see her and spend quality time with her. She truly is one of my best friends and I am so happy and grateful that I got to spend a few days with her in her new city!


  • Instagram
bottom of page