top of page

North Carolina Trip Recap

I had such an amazing time in North Carolina! I was visiting Christy, who is one of my best friends from college. I have never visited her in her hometown of Durham, NC before - so I was excited to explore the city.


It was a short trip but I’m extremely grateful that was able to spend quality time with Christy, which is exactly what I wanted from this trip!


Here are 5 highlights from my trip to North Carolina:


1) North Carolina Museum of Art


The museum is located in Raleigh, which is about a 25 minute drive from Durham. Christy knows how much I love going to art museums, so I appreciated her taking me here!


The museum is completely free to the public. There's an East Wing and a West Wing. I was impressed by all the exhibits and galleries. My favorite exhibit was the European art, which was located in the West Wing.


2) North Carolina State Fair


Somehow, the last day of the state fair happened to fall on the Sunday that I was visiting! Honestly, I had so much fun at the state fair. The $13 admission was worth it for everything we got to see. I saw pig racing, chickens, turkeys, a 1900 pound pumpkin, horses, and cows.


Christy and I also rode the Ferris Wheel! I won a little stuffed husky from a game where you throw darts at balloons (I actually popped all of my balloons!). I named the stuffed husky Zeus (I am a huge fan of Greek mythology).


3) Bojangles


Trying Bojangles was on my bucket list for North Carolina because I know it’s a popular chain. We got Bojangles on my last day. I think the fried chicken sandwich was good but it wasn’t anything special......


4) Seeing Mei Mei

I love Christy’s dog, Mei Mei and was happy to be reunited with her!


















5) Duke Campus


The Duke Campus is absolutely gorgeous! I knew that when I was visiting Durham, I wanted to see the Duke Chapel and the Sarah P. Duke Gardens.


The chapel opens at 10 am, so I was the first person to be at the chapel when the doors opened! I love the Gothic architecture, rose windows, and arches.



I thoroughly enjoyed my time in North Carolina and would love to come back and visit Christy again! This trip was just what I needed and I came back feeling refreshed and reenergized.

  • Instagram
bottom of page