top of page

Hawaii 2021 Recap

So it’s been awhile since I’ve updated this blog. Since my last blog post, I graduated from college (which sounds crazy to write and say aloud!), went to Hawaii on an amazing post-grad trip, moved to a brand new city, and started a full-time job!


I am so grateful to have had the opportunity to travel to Maui, Hawaii with some of my closest friends! It was honestly the trip of a lifetime because Hawaii is a place that I have always wanted to travel to.


Here are my top 5 memories from the trip:


1) Receiving random gifts

On our very first full day in Maui, my friends and I were given these super cute luggage tags by Gordon, a nice man who worked as a concierge at the resort we were staying at. We were waiting for our Uber to go to the Gazebo for breakfast and I was just asking him the best places to get Kona coffee. Before we left, he gave us all these Maui luggage tags. I told him it made my day and he told me I made his day by just talking to him. What a nice way to start vacation! From that point on, I always made an effort to try to say hi to him around the resort.







2) Trying things for the first time


I had never gone snorkeling before and got to snorkel in Molokini Crater. I saw black, yellow, and blue fish. Sadly, I did not see any turtles but it was still a really fun experience.


Something else that I got to do in Hawaii for the first time was go surfing! My goal was to just catch a wave and I ended up catching one. This guy - who happened to be a surf instructor - was surfing by my friends and I and he helped me catch a wave. He pushed my board out and told me exactly when to stand up to catch the wave! I can say that I did not wipe out.



3) Seeing the sunset every night


The sunsets in Hawaii are absolutely gorgeous. The sun sets super early around 7:10 pm every night. One of the excursions my friends and I booked was a sunset cruise. Because the sun sets so early, we had to board the cruise at 3 pm! It was a fun experience to have the breeze in our hair and take cute pictures on the boat.



4) The food!


I had my very first poke bowl in Hawaii. (I know, I can’t believe I had never had poke before.) I got poke twice from Maui Poke in Whalers Village, which is a shopping mall that was located by our resort. The first time I got the Maui signature bowl and the second time I made my own bowl. I am now a big fan of ahi tuna and salmon!


I also occasionally got acai bowls from Island Vintage Coffee, which were super yummy and refreshing. I would get the Lilikoi Moana bowl. The Hawaiian Honey Iced Latte was also amazing.



5) Exploring Lahaina


I was able to come to Lahaina twice. The first time I went was to go to Fleetwood’s, which is actually owned by Fleetwood Mac! The restaurant is also a museum.



The second time I came to Lahaina was after I spent the morning at the Maui Ocean Center with Christy. We came to Cool Cat Cafe for lunch. We both got burgers and shared fries and onion rings. This lunch was just what we needed after a long morning exploring the aquarium! Then we spent the afternoon walking around Front Street. I ended up getting shaved ice because it was hot and I wanted something to cool me down. I got the Maui (strawberry, guava, passion fruit) from Shaved Ice Maui.



I hope you enjoyed reading about some of the highlights from my amazing trip to Hawaii. It was honestly a trip of a lifetime and I made memories that I will always cherish!


  • Instagram
bottom of page