top of page

How to feel like yourself again

Lately, I haven’t been feeling quite like myself. I am unsure why. Maybe it’s finally hit me that I moved to a new city. Or that I am full on adulting.


I was able to go home for Thanksgiving break - it was such a nice and needed break. I got to spend time with family and see high school and college friends. I got a haircut. I got to eat at my favorite restaurants and even try some new restaurants and coffee shops!


I think that my time at home served me well and I came back to Indy feeling refreshed and renewed. I also missed my Indy friends immensely!


In today’s blog post, I wanted to share how I started to feel like myself again.


Reflect

I had to really reflect on why I was feeling “lost” and unlike myself. Was it my environment? Was it my daily routine? I wondered what parts of my daily routine could I change to not make every day feel the same. How could I “romanticize” my life to make it more exciting?


Do things that make you happy

So after reflecting, I decided to make a list of things that make me happy. This list included: coffee, yoga, shopping, painting my nails, working out, putting on makeup, putting on a cute outfit, eating out, etc. I realized that the simple pleasures in life made me happy and that it’s important to find joy in simplicity.


Make an effort

You are in control of your life. It’s your job to do things for yourself. A quote that I love is “you spend the most time with yourself so make sure you’re happy with that person”. I couldn’t agree more.


I also love the philosophy that it’s no one’s job to make you happy except you. You can’t rely on external factors to make you happy. A person, car, purse, or whatever is not going to make you happy.


It’s important to make a conscious and intentional effort to put yourself first. It’s not selfish - it’s simply self care.


Moving forward, I am going to make more of an effort to do things that make me happy.


I don’t make it a habit to buy coffee every day, but maybe I will try a new coffee shop once a week. Why? Because exploring new coffee shops makes me happy and it’s a fun activity.


I will try to schedule more time during the week to spend time with friends. Why? Because it gives me something to look forward to and because quality time is one of my love languages.


Once I started realizing that it’s literally up to me to change my life, all the pieces clicked and I am now approaching life with a new mentality.


I wanted to share how I have been feeling recently and hope that you found this blog post helpful or insightful!


  • Instagram
bottom of page