top of page

Spanish TV Show Recommendations

Anyone who knows me knows that I love watching Spanish TV shows. I started watching them in high school and I honestly can't remember why I started.


My favorite thing about the majority of these shows are that they were produced by Bambú Producciones. This means that a lot of the actors cross over on some these shows, so it was really cool to see familiar actors play different characters!


I also love all of these shows because they’re set in different time periods so the costumes and cinematography are beautiful. I watched all of these shows on Netflix (with subtitles, of course)!



1) Velvet



Velvet is hands-down my favorite Spanish TV show. It's also one of my favorite TV shows ever. The main storyline is the love story between Alberto Márquez, heir of Galerías Velvet, one of the most prestigious fashion houses in the Spain of the late 1950s, and Ana Rivera, who works as a seamstress there.


If you love romance and fashion, then this is the show for you. The show was so popular that a spin-off, Velvet Coleccion was made! But beware that each episode is about an hour long!





2) Velvet Coleccion




Because Velvet was such a hit, a spin-off had to be made! The show centers around opening a Velvet store in Barcelona. Velvet Coleccion brings back familiar faces and introduces some new characters as well.


I will watch anything Velvet related but this spin-off was not the same without the main characters Alberto and Ana. It doesn’t have the same magic as Velvet, but is still worth watching because of the fashion and for Clara and Mateo!






3) Gran Hotel



Gran Hotel is centered around the mysteries that involve the owners and family of Gran Hotel. The characters are pretty entertaining. The show can be a little slow at times but is still really good!


Amaia Salamanca stars as Alicia, the daughter of Gran Hotel's owner's. Yon González stars as a waiter at the Gran Hotel and Alicia's love interest.


I would say that of all the shows that I'm recommending, Gran Hotel lacks a little in the romance department.






4) El Internado

El Internado is a drama-thriller that focuses on the students of a fictional boarding school in a forest far from the city. I’m not gonna lie, this show can be a lot to handle because some of the storylines are crazy and far-fetched. But it definitely kept me on my toes!


It also is a pretty "classic" Spanish TV show, as I know a lot of people watched it in their high school Spanish classes. Some familiar faces are Yon González (Gran Hotel and Cable Girls), Blanca Suárez (Cable Girls), and Martiño Rivas (Cable Girls).



5) Las Chicas del Cable




This show is a little bit more known and popular because it is a Netflix Original Series. The show is set in 1920s Madrid and tells the stories of four young women and how their lives change after they start working for a modern telecommunications company.


This show features some familiar faces such as Blanca Suárez (El Internado), Concha Velasco (Gran Hotel), Yon González (Gran Hotel and El Internado), and Martiño Rivas (El Internado).






I hope you enjoyed reading about my favorite Spanish TV shows and let me know if you check anything of them out! Feel free to leave your own recommendations below!

  • Instagram
bottom of page